Academic Senate

Academic Senate functions to raise the standards of teaching, research, technological development, publication and other academic pursuits. The Academic Senate is responsible in developing policies and implementation of the policies. The membership of BCI Academic Senate consists of representatives of different departments of the institute and distinguished academics and reputed academic administrators.  The effective functioning of the Senate largely ensures the efficient functioning of the institute.

The Academic Senate

Rev. Fr Quintus Fernando

Rector/ Vice Chancellor

Rev. Fr Quintus Fernando is the Rector/Vice Chancellor of the BCI Campus.

  • Bachelor of Philosophy Pontifical Urban University (Rome)
  • Bachelor in Theology Pontifical Ateneo Regina Apostolorum (Rome)
  • Masters in Divinity Pontifical Gregorian University (Rome)
  • Master in Business Administration (UK)
  • Reading for a PhD in management at the University of Sri Jayewardenepura

Prof. C A N Fernando

  • PhD in Condensed Matter & Material Physics, Kanazawa University
  • Senior Professor and Nano-Technology scientist
  • National Nano Technology Committee member, National Science Foundation
  • Lecturing in the Department of electronics, Faculty of Applied Sciences, Wayamaba University

Prof. Pradeep Dharmadasa

  • PhD (Bond, Australia), MBA (Col), Dip in Packaging (India), BSc (Sp) Bus Admin (SJP)
  • Dean, Faculty of Management & Finance, University of Colombo
  • Head, Department of International Business, Faculty of Management & Finance
  • Head, Department of Marketing, Faculty of Management & Finance
  • Unit Coordinator, Postgraduate & Mid Career Development Unit, Faculty of Management & Finance
  • Professor of the Department of Marketing, Faculty of Management & Finance, University of Colombo

Prof. Ravindra Goonatilleke

  • PhD, Human Factors Engineering/Ergonomics, State University of New York at Buffalo, New York (USA)
  • MSAE, Aerospace Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia (USA)
  • MSc (Fulbright Scholar) Industrial Engineering, State University of New York at Buffalo, New York (USA)
  • BSc (Eng), Mechanical Engineering (First Class Honours), University of Moratuwa (Sri Lanka)

Dr Thushari Silva

BCI Senate Member & Senior Lecturer – School of Computing

  • PhD in Information Systems, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • MSc in Information Communication Technologies, Asian Institute of Technology, Thailand
  • BSc (Special) (Hons) in Computer Science and Statistics, University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka

Dr Hasintha Pemarathne

Programme Lead – International Programmes

Lecturer – School of Business

  • DBA (Doctor in Business Administration), Alders gate University Philippines
  • MBA (Specialist in Management), Alders gate University Philippines.
  • BBA (General Management), Preston University (USA)

Rev. Fr Eranga de Silva

Priest In-charge – Academic Affairs

  • MDiv, Mount St Mary’s University, Maryland, USA)
  • MA in Sacred Scripture, Maryland, USA
  • BPh, Urbaniana University, Rome

Rev. Fr Nimesh de Silva

Priest In-charge – Campus Ministry

  • Bachelor of Philosophy, Pontifical Urban University (Rome)
  • Bachelor of Theology, Pontifical Urban University (Rome)

Ms Ishaneera Mirando

Secretary Administration

  • BCom (Special), University of Sri Jayewardenapura
  • Australian Computer Society (ACS) Examinations in Computing

Ms Kishani Solangaarachchi

Manager – Academy of Professional Studies

  • Master of Business Administration – Postgraduate Institute of Management University of Sri Jayewardenapura
  • BSc Agriculture- Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
  • PG.Dip in Marketing- Sri Lanka Institute of Marketing

Mr Madura Bulathsinghala

Administrative Coordinator – School of English

  • MBA in Business Administration (Reading) – Asia e University, Malaysia
  • BPh – Urbaniana University, Rome

Mr Sohan Fernando

System Administrator cum Lecturer

  • Master of Science Applied Computer Science – Wentworth Institute of Technology, Boston, USA
  • Bachelor of Science (Hons) in ICT & New Media – Buckinghamshire New University, Buckinghamshire, UK

Ms Sandamini Rambandara

Secretary of the Senate & Lecturer cum Coordinator – BRIDGE Programme

  • MSc in Operational Research (Reading), University of Moratuwa
  • BSc (Sp) in Industrial Management, Wayamba University

Mr Kasun Jayananda

Lecturer cum Coordinator – School of Computing

  • MSc In Computer Science (Reading), University of Peradeniya
  • BSc (Hons) in Information Technology Specialization in Information Technology, SLIIT Malabe